Saturday, July 29, 2017

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational

The 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational golf tournament on the PGA Tour is taking place this week from August 3-6, 2017, on the South Course at the Firestone Country Club located in Akron, Ohio. Here is a list of the playing field of top PGA golfers for the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational.

The WGC-Bridgestone Invitational dates back to 1999. Tiger Woods has completely dominated this event winning it a record 8 times. Tiger Woods is the only player to ever win this event more than once but he will not be playing this year due to injuries. Dustin Johnson is the defending champion.

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational

Top ranked PGA golfers in the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational playing field include: (a year in parenthesis after a player denotes year the player won this event) 

  • Dustin Johnson (2016)

  • Jordan Spieth

  • Hideki Matsuyama

  • Rory McIlroy (2014)

  • Sergio Garcia

  • Jason Day

  • Jon Rahm

  • Henrik Stenson

  • Alex Noren

  • Brooks Koepka

Those are all 10 of the top 10 ranked golfers in the world.

In fact, the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational is such a prestigious and well paying event that every eligible golfer in the world is playing this week. 

Most of the golfers are eligible to play in the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational because they were either on the United States or European Ryder Cup teams or they are ranked in the top 50 in the world. 

Seventeen generally young players like Bryson DeChambeau, Kyle Stanley and Xander Schauffele on the PGA Tour and Renato Paratore, Thorbjorn Olesen and Wang Jeungh-hun on the European Tour played their way into the playing field by winning events with a strength of field of 115 points or more over the last year.

Five more players played their way into the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational from the Asian Tour (Scott Hend), the PGA Tour of Australasia (Harold Varner III), the Japan Golf Tour (Satoshi Kodaira and Shaun Norris) and the Sunshine Tour (Paul Lawrie).

Golf major winners in the playing field not already included above are Zach Johnson, Martin Kaymer, Phil Mickelson, Justin Rose, Jimmy Walker, Danny Willett, Jason Day, Jason Dufner, Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Adam Scott (2011) and Bubba Watson.

Unless a top player or two withdraws from the 2017 WGC-Bridgestone Invitational by Thursday, this will be the best playing field so far in the 2017 PGA Tour season.

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment