Saturday, July 22, 2017

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open

The 2017 RBC Canadian Open golf tournament on the PGA Tour is taking place this week from July 27-30, 2017, at the Glen Abbey Golf Course located in Oakville, Ontario, Canada. Here is a list of the playing field of top PGA golfers for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open.

The RBC Canadian Open dates back to 1904. It is the third oldest tournament on the PGA Tour trailing only the British and U.S. Opens. Leo Diegel holds the record for most wins with four followed by Tommy Armour, Sam Snead and Lee Trevino with three each.In modern times, Jason Day won this event in 2015 and Tiger Was a winner here in 2000.

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 RBC Canadian Open

Top ranked PGA golfers in the 2017 RBC Canadian Open playing field include: (a year in parenthesis after a player denotes year the player won this event) 

  • Dustin Johnson

  • Matt Kuchar

  • Kevin Chappell

  • Brandt Snedeker (2013)

  • Charley Hoffman

  • Gary Woodland

  • Bubba Watson

Those players are all ranked in the top 50 in the world. Dustin Johnson is the #1 ranked player in the world. 

Golf major winners in the playing field not already included above are Keegan Bradley, Stewart Cink, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk (2006, 2007), Retief Goosen, Graeme McDowell, Geoff Ogilvy, Vijay Singh (2004) and Mike Weir who is Canadian.

Previous winners of the RBC Canadian Open not listed above in the playing field this week include Scott Piercy (2012), Sean O'Hair (2011), Carl Pettersson (2010) and Chez Reavie (2008). 

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment