Saturday, June 3, 2017

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 FedEx St. Jude Classic

The 2017 FedEx St. Jude Classic golf tournament on the PGA Tour is taking place this week from June 8-11, 2017, at the TPC Southwind private golf club located in Memphis, Tennessee. Here is a list of the playing field of top PGA golfers for the 2017 FedEx St. Jude Classic.

The FedEx St. Jude Classic dates back to 1958. Dave Hill holds the record for most wins with four, followed by Lee Trevino in 2nd place with three wins. The best golfer to win this event in modern times is Dustin Johnson in 2012. Tiger Woods has never won the St. Jude Classic but his college roommate and teammate from Stanford Notah Begay won here in 2000.

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 FedEx St. Jude Classic

The following six of the 25 top ranked players in the world are in the playing field for the 2017 FedEx St. Jude Classic: (if a player has won the St. Jude Classic the year in parenthesis is the year he won in)

  • Adam Scott

  • Rickie Fowler

  • Francesco Molinari

  • Charl Schwartzel

  • Brooks Koepka

  • Phil Mickelson

Other top ranked PGA golfers in the playing field include Kevin Chappell, Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Russell Knox, Daniel Berger (2016), Billy Horschel, J.B. Holmes and Williams McGirt. All those players are ranked in the top 50 in the world.

Golf major winners in the playing field not already included above are Keegan Bradley, Stewart Cink, David Duval, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Retief Goosen, Padraig Harrington, David Love III, Graeme McDowell and Vijay Singh. 

Golfers in the playing field who have won the FedEx St. Jude Classic not listed above include Fabian Gomez (2015), Ben Crane (2014), Harris English (2013), Brian Gay (2009) and Bob Estes (2001).

No comments:

Post a Comment