Friday, June 30, 2017

European Tour Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Irish Open

The 2017 Irish Open golf tournament on the European Tour is taking place this week from July 6-9, 2017, at the Portstewart Golf Club located in Portstewart, County Londonderry, Northern IrelandHere is a list of the top ranked European Tour players in the playing field this week at the 2017 Irish Open.

The Irish Open dates all the way back to 1927, though, the event was not played from 1954 to 1974. It has been a European Tour event since 1974. Colin Montgomerie, Nick Faldo, Bernhard Langer and Seve Ballesteros jointly hold the record for most wins with three each.

Rory McIlroy hosts the Irish Open and his charity the Rory Foundation is the main benefactor from the tournament. Rory McIlroy won the Irish Open in 2016 and is the defending champion.

Only two American golfers have ever won the Irish Open. Ben Crenshaw was the winner in 1976 and felllow American Hubert Green was the winner one year later in 1977.

European Tour Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Irish Open

Top ranked golfers in the 2017 Irish Open playing field include:

  • Hideki Matsuyama

  • Rory McIlroy (2016 winner)

  • Jon Rahm

  • Justin Rose

  • Tommy Fleetwood

  • Tyrrell Hatton

Those six players are all ranked in the top 25 in the world.

Top 60 ranked players in the world in the playing field include Thomas Pieters from Belgium, Rafa Cabrera Bello from Spain, Matthew Fitzpatrick from England, Danny Willett from England, Ross Fisher from England, Hideto Tanihara from Japan, Lee Westwood from England, Chris Wood from England and Jeunghun Wang from South Korea.

Golf major winners in the field not included above are Padraig Harrington, Darren Clarke, Graeme McDowell and Trevor Immelman. 

Other well known golfers most with many wins on tour in the playing field include Robert Karlsson from Sweden, Pablo Larrazabal from Spain, Matteo Manassero and Edoardo Molinari from Italy, Ian Poulter from England, Thomas Bjorn from Denmark and Thongchai Jaidee from Thailand.

Past winners of the Irish Open in the playing field not included above are Soren Kjeldsen (2015), Mikko Ilonen (2014), Jamie Donaldson (2012), Simon Dyson (2011), Shane Lowry (2009) and Richard Finch (2008).

Americans in the 2017 Irish Open playing field trying to join Ben Crenshaw and Hubert Green as winners of this event include Paul Peterson, David Lipsky, Daniel IM and Peter Uihlein.

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment