Friday, June 23, 2017

European Tour Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Open de France

The 2017 Open de France golf tournament on the European Tour is taking place this week from June 29 to July 2, 2017, at the Le Golf National located in Paris, FranceHere is a list of the playing field of top European Tour players this week at the 2017 Open de France.

The Open de France dates all the way back to 1906, and it has been a European Tour event since the European Tour was founded in 1972. Notable winners include Americans Walter Hagen and Byron Nelson, as well as many golf major winners including Seve Ballesteros (4 time winner), Nick Faldo (3 time winner), Bernhard Langer, Retief Goosen (twice), Colin Montgomerie, Martin Kaymer and Graeme McDowell (2 time winner).

European Tour Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Open de France

Top ranked golfers in the 2017 Open de France playing field include:

  • Alex Noren

  • Jon Rahm

  • Francesco Molinari

  • Tyrrell Hatton

  • Thomas Pieters

Those five players are all ranked in the top 25 in the world.

Top 60 ranked players in the world in the playing field include Matthew Fitzpatrick from England, Bernd Wiesberger from Austria, Tommy Fleetwood from England, Russell Knox from Scotland, Danny Willett from England, Ross Fisher from England, Hideto Tanihara from Japan, Martin Kaymer from Germany, Lee Westwood from England, Chris Wood from England and Jeunghun Wang from South Korea.

Golf major winners in the field not included above are Jose Maria Oazabal, Darren Clarke, Graeme McDowell and Trevor Immelman. 

Other well known golfers with many wins on tour in the playing field include Robert Karlsson from Sweden, Matteo Manassero and Edoardo Molinari from Italy, Ian Poulter from England, Thomas Bjorn from Denmark and Thongchai Jaidee from Thailand.

Past winners of the Open de France in the playing field not included above are Marcel Siem from Germany (2012), Pablo Larazzabal from Spain (2008) and Graeme Storm from England (2007).

Americans in the 2017 Open de France playing field trying to join Walter Hagen and Byron Nelson as winners of this event include Paul Peterson, David Lipsky, Daniel IM and Peter Uihlein.

Note: the golf course this event is being played at, Le Golf National, is also hosting the 2018 Ryder Cup.

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment