Saturday, May 27, 2017

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Memorial Tournament

The 2017 Memorial Tournament golf tournament on the PGA Tour is taking place this week from June 1-4, 2017, at the Muirfield Village Golf Club located in Dublin, Ohio. Here is a list of the playing field of top PGA golfers for the 2017 Memorial Tournament.

The Memorial Tournament was founded as an invitational golf event by Jack Nicklaus in 1976. As an invitational tournament the field this week is limited to just 120 players with a 2nd round cut line to 70 players plus ties.

Tiger Woods holds the record for most wins with five. Kenny Perry has the 2nd most wins with three. Jack Nicklaus is tied for the 3rd most wins along with Hale Irwin, Greg Norman and Tom Watson at two wins each.

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 Memorial Tournament

The following seven of the 10 top ranked players in the world are in the playing field for the 2017 Memorial Tournament: (if a player has won the Memorial Tournament the year in parenthesis is the year he won in)

  • Dustin Johnson 

  • Jason Day 

  • Hideki Matsuyama (2014)

  • Jordan Spieth 

  • Adam Scott

  • Justin Rose (2010)

  • Rickie Fowler

The three top 10 ranked players not in the field this week are Rory McIlroy (injury), Henrik Stenson (playing this week on his home course in Nordea Masters in home country Sweden) and Sergio Garcia. 

Other top ranked PGA golfers in the playing field include Justin Thomas, Jon Rahm, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar (2013), Charl Schwartzel, Brooks Koepka, Phil Mickelson, Kevin Chappell and Rafa Cabrera-Bello. All those players are ranked in the top 25 in the world.

Golf major winners in the playing field not already included above are Keegan Bradley, Stewart Cink, Jason Dufner, Jim Furyk (2002), Luca Glover, Retief Goosen, Padraig Harrington, Zach Johnson, Webb Simpson, Vijay Singh (1997) and Bubba Watson. 

Golfers in the playing field who have won the Memorial Tournament not listed above include William McGirt (2016), David Lingmerth (2015), Steve Stricker (2011) and Carl Pettersson.

For More See:

No comments:

Post a Comment