Saturday, December 31, 2016

PGA Golf Playing Field for the 2017 SBS Tournament of Champions

The 2017 SBS Tournament of Champions golf tournament on the PGA Tour is taking place this week from January 5-8, 2017, on the Plantation Course at the Kapalua Resort located on the west coast of Maui in Lahaina in Hawaii. Here is a list of the playing field of PGA golfers playing at the 2017 SBS Tournament of Champions.

The SBS Tournament of Champions is the first PGA Tournament in the calendar year of 2017 but it is not the first tournament of the 2017 PGA season which began last October. The Tournament of Champions is a unique PGA event as the field is restricted to players who won a tournament over the previous calendar year of 2016.

Top ranked players in the 2017 Tournament of Champions include Jason Day, the #1 ranked golfer in the world, along with Dustin Johnson (2016 US Open winner), Jordan Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Branden Grace, Russell Knox, Jimmy Walker (2016 PGA Champion), Justin Thomas, Daniel Berger, Ryan Moore and Williams McGirt. All those players are ranked in the top 50 in the world golf rankings.

Also playing are Fabian Gomez, Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker, Vaughn Taylor, Tony Finau, Jim Herman, Charley Hoffman, Brian Stuard, James Hahn, Billy Hurley III, Greg Chalmers, Aaron Baddeley, Jhonattan Vegas, Si Woo Kim, Brendan Steele, Cody Gribble, Rod Pampling, Pat Perez and Mackenzie Hughes. Again, all those players won a tournament in 2016 the calendar year.

Players who are eligible to play in the 2017 SBS Tournament of Champions but are skipping the event include Adam Scott (won twice in 2016), Charl Schwartzel, Danny Willett (2016 Masters winner), Sergio Garcia, Henrik Stenson (2016 British Open winner) and Rory McIlroy who won two tournaments in 2016 including the Tour championship and FedEx Cup and $10 million bonus.

So 32 of the 38 eligible players are in the playing field for the 2017 SBS Tournament of Champions in beautiful Maui, Hawaii. Should be a great tournament to kick of the 2017 calendar year on the PGA Tour.

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment