Wednesday, September 7, 2016

NFL Football Teams That Have Never Won the Super Bowl

Out of the 32 teams in the NFL, 12 have yet to win a Super Bowl going into the 2018 season. That's 38% of the teams in the NFL that have never won a Super Bowl. A very high percentage and much higher than in baseball where only seven of the 30 teams have yet to win a World Series.

These are the 12 teams in the NFL that have never won a Super Bowl. The Seattle Seahawks removed themselves from this list by winning the Super Bowl during the 2013 NFL season. The Philadelphia Eagles removed themselves by winning Super Bowl 52.

NFL football teams that have never won the Super Bowl

  • Minnesota Vikings
The Minnesota Vikings have been to four Super Bowls ('69, '73, '74, '76) but lost all of them under Hall of Fame coach Bud Grant who won 4 Grey Cup Championships in the Canadian Football League in the late 1950's and early 1960's.

  • Buffalo Bills
The Buffalo Bills made it to four straight Super Bowls from 1990 to 1993 and lost them all. Their head coach Marv Levy also made the Hall of Fame. The Bills won two AFL Championships back-to-back in 1964-65.

Terry and Kim Pegula bought the Buffalo Bills from the Wilson family for $1.4 billion in 2014. The $1.4 billion is a record price for a NFL team, which do not come up for sale very often.

  • Cincinnati Bengals
The Cincinnati Bengals made two Super Bowls in 1981 and 1989. They lost lost both narrowly to the San Francisco 49ers.

  • Philadelphia Eagles
The Philadelphia Eagles also lost two Super Bowls. They were blown out by the Raiders in 1980 and lost narrowly to the Patriots in 2004 when Donovan McNabb ran out of gas in the 4th quarter. They won Super Bowl 52 to get off the list.

  • San Diego Chargers
The San Diego Chargers made it to one Super Bowl in 1994 but were blown out by the 49ers.

  • Atlanta Falcons
The Atlanta Falcons made the Super Bowl during the 1998 season, but they were easily defeated by John Elway and the Denver Broncos, 34-19. The Falcons also made the Super Bowl during the 2016 season but were defeated by the New England Patriots 31-28 in the first OT Super Bowl. Atlanta blew a 28-3 lead in the game as Tom Brady led the Patriots to the biggest come back in Super Bowl history.

  • Tennessee Titans
The Tennessee Titans lost the Super Bowl in 1999 when WR Kevin Dyson was tackled at the 1 yard line when time expired to preserve the Greatest Show on Turf St. Louis Rams victory.

Jeff Fisher was the Titans head coach when they made the Super Bowl. At the start of the 2016 season, Jeff Fisher has an overall record of 169-156-1 (.520), but Fisher has only had six winning seasons in 22 years as a NFL head coach.

  • Carolina Panthers
The Carolina Panthers have only been around since 1995. The Panthers made the Super Bowl in 2003, but were narrowly defeated by the Patriots, 32-29. They also made the Super Bowl last season but lost to the Denver Broncos 24-10.

  • Arizona Cardinals
The Arizona Cardinals made it to the Super Bowl for the first time in 2008, and had the lead with under a minute to go in the game but were beat 27-23 when MVP Santonio Holmes caught the game winning TD for the Pittsburgh Steelers.

  • Detroit Lions
The Detroit Lions have never made it to the Super Bowl, but the team did win four NFL Championships prior to the creation of the Super Bowl in 1967.

  • Cleveland Browns
The Cleveland Browns have never made a Super Bowl but dominated pro football under coach Paul Brown and RB Marion Motley winning eight championships in the AAFC (four titles) and NFL (four more titles) prior to the creation of the Super Bowl.

  • Jacksonville Jaguars
The Jacksonville Jaguars entered the league in 1995 with the Carolina Panthers but have never made a Super Bowl. They have made two AFC Championship games but lost both times.

  • Houston Texans
The Houston Texans joined the NFL in 2002 and have yet to play in a Super Bowl.

DraftKings was founded in 2012 and the website allows users to enter daily and weekly sports fantasy contests to win money based upon how well the players and teams you select perform. You can enter contests for practically all the major sports in the world including the NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL as well as PGA golf, professional soccer, tennis, NASCAR, CFL, Arena Football League and MMA.

To play, you just select the players for any sport you like on a daily or weekly basis and you win money based upon how the players or teams you select perform on a daily or weekly basis. You care not competing against DraftKings you are competing against the other people who are also selecting players and teams for the contests you want to enter. If the players or teams you select on a daily or weekly basis perform the best over the time specified for the contest you entered you win.

To win money, stick to the sport or sports you know best. If you are a football fanatic then try the NFL contests. If golf or tennis are your passions stick to those contests. Play where you have the edge over people who know less than you do for any given sport. For beginners, DraftKings offers beginners contests for people who have played in less than 50 contests.

These contests are incredibly fun and entertaining and can make you some bucks too! Sign up today to DraftKings to get their greatest promotion.

For more see:

No comments:

Post a Comment